Day 81 -40 Pounds

Standard

IMG_0054

That’s -40 pounds in 2 months and 21 days.

Here’s what’s happened since my last blog post:

A week after my second followup appointment at the wellness center I once again tried going up to the full dose of phentermine, because the weight loss seemed to have stalled.  I stayed on the full dose for 3 weeks until my third followup appointment last week. I told the doctor I was only sleeping 3-4 hours a night and felt better on the half dose, so he said to go back down to the half dose. Done, and that’s where I’ll stay. Also, last month he upped my dose of thyroid replacement because my blood test still showed a low TSH.

My diet is basically the same, only now eating less soups and animal protein (maybe once a week) and I’m now finding new ways to be creative with flavor. I’ve been scouring YouTube for raw vegan recipes that are not too involved and still keep the food as close to it’s natural state as possible. I’m finding great dip, sauce and food combination ideas from YouTube user TannyRaw — a long-time raw vegan who is very upbeat and personable. I find her videos to be fun and very informative, and she addresses some of the issues I’ve been having while transitioning on this mostly raw diet. It’s still not terribly difficult for me to do because I’m very determined and committed, but having a different flavor and texture once in a while is very satisfying. I’m very lucky that I don’t work outside the home, rarely, if ever, have visitors and live with a very understanding and supportive man. I don’t know how well I could have done this if I worked in an office or had friends constantly coming over or inviting me to lunch. It would have been a lot more difficult psychologically for sure. Sometimes it pays to be a hermit. 🙂

I’m still logging my daily food on MyFitnessPal, but that’s only so I can look back on it and see what worked and what didn’t for my weight-loss. It’s not really raw-vegan friendly, and every day it tells me I need more calories and I tell it to shut up. I feel great and energized enough for the small amount of energy I expend each day.  As I DO more I’ll EAT more. I do definitely need to get back into the habit of logging my food AS I eat, instead of trying to remember it all at the end of the day like I’ve been doing this last month. Not good. I’m probably forgetting things.

I upped my physical activity last month with nearly daily weight-resistance exercises using dumbbells and ankle weights, alternating upper body and lower body each day so the muscles can rest and repair. Then I dragged out my old Gazelle to get some cardio until I can clean out the room with my treadmill. Then…the pollen showed up.  Lots and lots of pollen.  I have terrible  pollen allergies and for the last week have been coughing, sneezing, mucousy and have fatigue. I’ve just felt too terrible and tired to work out.  However, today I’m seeing light at the end of the tunnel and plan to work out some tonight.

I’m finding I prefer shopping at Whole Foods over Earth Fare. Whole Foods has a much larger variety of organic produce, and it’s fresher. I still shop at Earth Fare because it’s closer to home, but really look forward to visiting Whole Foods after my wellness center followups each month. I wish they’d open one up closer to my home.

I need to write down a schedule for local farmer’s markets so I remember to go check them out.

If data motivates you the way it does me I highly recommend an app called “Monitor Your Weight.”  It calculates time to your target weight, BMI, body fat percentage, average daily and weekly weight loss and SO much more. I love it.

Positive changes I’ve noticed:
My tee shirts are hanging even more loosely at my shrinking belly area.
I can now fit into an old pair of skinny jeans from 8 years ago.
My cheekbones are becoming more visible.
My lower back pain is mostly gone unless I twist a certain way.
No joint pain.
My left knee pain is 95% gone, but I still baby it a bit so as not to re-injure it
I’m almost at my half-way point and still more than a week ahead of my July 4th deadline for being at my goal weight.

 

3 responses »

  1. Awesome job! I really enjoy myfitnesspal! It’s a great tool, and one that I used to lose weight. Keep up the hard work!

    • Hi, and thank you! I do like MyFitnessPal, especially for keeping track of my fat and sodium intake. But, the more raw plant foods I eat the less I need that data. I wish I could turn off that “you’re not consuming enough calories” warning. I eat plenty. I want to look around the community boards more. I’m not looking for motivation or diet advice, because what I’m doing works great for me, but I’d like to connect with people who are putting their health first. I wish there was a vegan version of the app that was less focused on calories and more focused on nutrient intake. If I were an app developer I’d make one myself!

      • Hmm. Yeah, I’m not sure how to turn that off. Surely there’s got to be a way. But maybe not for liability reasons?

Leave a Reply

