Pollen is the devil, but Claritin-D is the lesser of the two evils.

Standard

I have seasonal allergies (pollen is the devil). The only thing I have ever found that works to keep me symptom-free is Claritin-D. You know, the one where you have to take the slip of paper to the pharmacy counter and they ask to see your photo ID before they give it to you because so many people use it to manufacture crystal meth? Anyway, the stuff works great, but is not without side effects, the worst of which, for me, is insomnia. But, for me the pros outweigh the cons, and so I suffer from sleep deprivation in order not to feel lousy in other, more unpleasant ways. I’ve been taking it for 2-1/2 weeks now, but just realized that for the last week it hasn’t really been working. My grandkids were sick last week while I watched them, and I assumed they too had allergies. Then my sister started getting symptoms, kept saying she was sick, and I tried to convince her that SHE had allergies. Yesterday, she finally convinced ME that I HAD A COLD! So, I’ve been taking this expensive, OTC, insomnia-inducing medication for a week for no reason. I’m looking forward to a decent nights’ sleep tonight.

Today I plan to take it slow and easy, as I did yesterday, and will be out in my cabin workshop making a few coin rings. I have no outstanding orders for the first time in weeks, so I can play a little today. If I feel up to it I’ll turn on the web cam and broadcast live on my Ustream channel, but only if the mood strikes. Sometimes I just want my quiet privacy. Ed is working on his ghetto-apartments renovation project this weekend, so things are quiet at home.

Leave a Reply

