The Craft Cabin Gift, Part 1

Standard

Allow me to explain by first giving a little personal history:  My significant other’s name is Ed.  Ed was my very first boyfriend at age 15 where we grew up on Long Island, NY.  We dated for 10 months, separated for 29 years, and reunited in South Carolina on Christmas Eve 2006.  That’s the condensed version.

Ed is licensed in electric, plumbing, HVAC and residential and commercial construction.  Ed likes to build stuff.  A lot.  Like me he is creative, but in a different way.  For the 7 years we’ve been together he’s been very supportive of my creativity and craftiness, but my craft supplies have taken over large areas of the house — half of the office and part of the guest room, occasionally spilling over into the kitchen.  For a few years now Ed’s been talking about building me a small crafting cabin in the back yard, complete with electric, heat and AC, and even went so far as to try to win me a Graceland Cabin at an auction.  This idea of a getting a cabin for me would come and go, and my craft supplies continued to multiply and take over the house.

A few weeks ago, just before New Years, Ed called me after doing an estimate for a customer.  Apparently the guy needed work done and had a slightly used Graceland cabin he needed moved off a property.  The guy didn’t necessarily want to keep the cabin, but it had to be moved nonetheless.  Ed seized the opportunity, and after a few days of back and forth negotiation was able to barter some work for the guy with the cabin as compensation, and he told me that he would be bringing it home in a week or two.  Two days later he called to tell me he was on his way to our house with the cabin.  SURPRISE!  What a guy!

So, me being the geek I am, I immediately ran outside with my iPhone to record the momentous event…

He placed it next to our back deck for easy access from the house.  To say that I was excited would be an understatement.  I started making plans of how I would decorate it, and how I would set up the inside once Ed was done working on it.

A couple of days later I was off to Aiken, SC on business.  While I was gone Ed started working his magic, which included yet another surprise that I’ll show you in the next post.

Click here for Part 2 of The Craft Cabin Gift.

6 responses »

  1. That was the best day ever! I loved the videos and how giddy you were about it all! It’s AN AMAZING little cabin and I’m so happy you will have such a fun space to create in!!!!

  2. Pingback: The Craft Cabin Gift, Part 2 | Elizabeth K. King

  3. Pingback: The Craft Cabin Gift, Part 3 | Elizabeth K. King

  4. Pingback: The Craft Cabin Interior is Finished! | Elizabeth Kathleen King

Leave a Reply

