The Ingenuity of Ed, and the Frozen Water Pipe

Standard

Our water pipes froze last night.  Allow me to explain: A few weeks ago Ed discovered a water leak under the house.  He didn’t have time to replace the pipes, so he ran a temporary waterline from the meter out by the road into the house, bypassing the leaking pipe. This was only meant to be a temporary solution until he could get around to fixing it correctly.  Well, last night while getting ready for bed I mentioned to him the possibility of the above-ground pipe freezing from the expected low temperatures that night.  He agreed that there was a possibility and that he would check the water first thing in the morning.  Well, it did freeze. But, thanks to Ed’s ingenuity he got it thawed out.

I went out to CVS to get some water, milk and bread, and when I returned home what I saw as I pulled into the driveway made me laugh out loud.  I got out of the car and pulled out my phone to video record it and Ed laughed and asked me “What? You’re going to show everyone our redneck ways?”  I replied “damn right!”  So, here is my video of “The ingenuity of redneck Ed”, who, by the way, was born and raised in Amityville, New York, not the south.

Video:  Ed’s answer to a frozen above-ground water line.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

